107 days… and counting…

While the “missus” was in the bath and I was idly playing Meteos on my mobile phone, I got to thinking about what I was looking forward to. About being a dad, I mean. As often happens when my thoughts wander in this general direction, Christmas came to mind.

Now as an adult – one who is more than a couple of years into his adulthood – I think it is fair to say that Christmas doesn’t quite mean what it used to. Short of actually being a humbug-uttering Scrooge-alike, for various complicated (and perhaps not so complicated) reasons which I don’t fancy going into at the present, Christmas has become a time of the year which I don’t actually dread, but which I don’t look forward to in the same way that I used to… say, twenty and more years ago – in my mid-teens and earlier. I do, however, have exceedingly fond memories, through my childhood, of the almost overwhelmingly exciting, sleep-inhibiting build-up to the twenty-fifth of December, the sparkling, thrilling joy of opening presents, and doing such things as helping to decorate the tree, helping to wrap presents, constructing cards out of glitter, glue, glitter-glue and all manner of cut-out-able and stick-down-able things, and… an activity which became something of a tradition for a number of years (if you ask me how many years, I’m afraid I couldn’t tell you – it might have been only two)… sitting down with mum, at a table, drawing a big Christmas tree on a big piece of paper, and “decorating” it by sticking all manner of things to it – cut-out coloured paper shapes, yet more glitter, bits of cotton wool and whatever else we could think of. I can’t, for the life of me, remember what we did with these paper Christmas trees… did we stick them up on the wall somewhere? Well it was the process that mattered.

So I am looking forward to Christmases with my child… replicating some of the above… and… well… to be honest, I don’t really know… I’m not really sure, when I think about it, quite why I am so looking forwarded to Christmases with my son or daughter. I started to think about this while playing Meteos… to analyse it, to question it, to try and make sense of it… as is so often my approach to things… which is handy when trying to come up with things to say on my blogs, but… is it really appropriate here?

I decided to stop thinking… stop analysing… stop rationalising…

Just look forward… blindly… unthinkingly…

Like a child would look forward…

Like a child would look forward to Christmas. 🙂

Christmas Tree

