91 days… and counting…

I don’t know how I will feel when I am immersed in it all – when I am plunged, during those first few weeks, into this strange new world of sleepless nights and nappies, and… sleepless nights and nappies… but… there are some rather surprising things I am looking forward to! Such as… (the changing of) nappies! Now don’t explode with laughter, all you parents out there, all you people who have already been through it all, once, twice, many times before – don’t guffaw and chuckle and say out loud to this here page, “Oh you just wait and see, my friend! You just wait and see, you over-optimistic dad-to-be, when you first experience the nauseating horror of stumbling around in those hours of the morning you didn’t even know existed, and it feels like your whole world is poo and stink and noise, and you feel like you will never ever get any kind of a semblance of a ‘normal’ life back again”…

Yes, yes, I know all that…

(Well, in theory)

I know at times I will feel so immensely tired, stressed, depressed, traumatised, horrified and wondering whether we’ve just made some huge mistake… but for now… when I remove myself from the practicalities, from thinking too much about it… there is a part of me that is actually looking forward to… changing nappies! 🙂

Yes, I can’t deny it! It’s there! How will I “perform” at this menial, smelly, thankless task? How will I rise to this challenge?

And furthermore…

How will I “perform” at getting my baby to sleep? And getting them to eat? And bathing them? And helping them to release their first smile, their first laugh, take their first step, utter their first word?

God, I’m terrified… but God, I’m excited! 🙂

Oh and…

Getting my hands on that stylish, three-wheeled, hi-tech pram we’ve got our eyes on, wheeling it along those country paths and cornering like a demon! 🙂

🙂

🙂

 

