51 days… and counting…

Dear Whatever-we-decide-to-name-you-when-you-arrive-in-the-world,

First of all, thank you for choosing us as parents – I promise you we will try to do our best to meet your expectations! Unless, of course, your expectations are totally outside the bounds of possibility, in which case we will try to do our best to meet something closely resembling your expectations. Either way… please accept in advance our apologies for any errors of judgement, misinterpretation or just plain boo-boos that may (and let’s face it, probably will) occur along the path of your childhood… and, of course beyond (but let’s not think too far ahead yet, eh?).

Now that that’s out of the way… may I just ask of you a few things in return for our assisting your safe and joyful passage into the world? Don’t worry, it’s not going to be some immense list of requirements, just some stuff which I am hoping will come quite naturally to you and which you will be able to achieve merely by being in our presence… to whit…

May I ask that you can re-educate me in the joys of pure, unfettered curiosity? And that you can help me to brush up my ability to see wonder and magic and awe in every corner of existence (an ability which I will admit has got a bit rusty of late)? Oh and can I also request just the tiniest fraction of your undoubtedly boundless energy and enthusiasm and pleasure at merely being in the world? I will leave it entirely at your discretion how you choose to pass on the latter, be it through a smile, a giggle, a gurgle or through the limitless, effervescent and deeply infectious delight of being tickled. Oh and finally… I’m doing my best at this one, but I can’t quite pull it off to the extent that I feel is possible… could I please request – you know, whenever you’ve got a spare moment or two – a crash course in living in the now?

Thanks… 😉

I think that’s all…

I’m not asking too much, am I?

I promise you that I (and I don’t think I’m being too presumptuous in saying that this comes from your mother also) will endeavour to provide you with all the love and happiness you could possibly desire in all the years to come, by way of payment for all of the above.

Thank you for reading!

Your terrified-as-heck, but also excited-fit-to-burst dad…
xxx 🙂 xxx

