30 days… and counting…

Something rather monumental has just occurred to me… I’m going to be a dad! Hang on… no, I think I’ve already mentioned that…

What was it?

Oh yes…

My life appears to run in 18 year cycles! Give or take a few months. Those familiar with things of a numerological nature may be aware of the concept of things running in 9 year cycles. If I thought about it, I might be able to find significant “phase-change” type events occurring every 9 years throughout my life thus far, but to be honest it might be a struggle, and the 18 year “phase-changes” seem far more significant and easy to spot. To whit…

At the age of 18 I left home for uni, shortly after which I met Jo, who became my life partner.

For about the next eighteen years, they were the Childless Adult Years, in which Jo and I lived together, did things that adults do together, and, by way of an immense expression of oversimplification, “established” our adult lives (you know, doing various jobs, exploring various “careers,” living in various places, and having numerous other pre-parenthood adult-type experiences).

It would appear that the next 18 year cycle is going to commence on the 26th of June 2008… or thereabouts… and will conclude when my child becomes an adult and leaves home!

Now the above may seem arbitrary and coincidental to the casual observer, but the fact is that I do believe in cycles and the beginning of my last 18 year cycle was significant in the extreme… I (obviously) always knew that becoming a parent would be a significant, immensely monumental landmark in my life, but realising the above has… imbued it with layers of additional significance! When I think of how my life was for the first 18 years, how different it was for the next… and just how different it will be for the next! Mind-boggling…

