17 days… and counting…

Toblerone

After watching the film, I Am Legend, I started thinking about parenthood, and the following phrase came into my head…

There is no greater challenge, and nothing is more rewarding.

I was struck by the parallel between the message behind this film and the challenge that lies ahead of me.

Earlier in the day, my mum and her partner came to visit. I thought about the passing down of the baton, and the immortality inferred by raising children, passing on one’s genes, leaving behind a legacy. It has struck me that what I am doing now could reverberate through eternity. Obviously, in accordance with the laws of Chaos and the so-called “Butterfly Effect,” this could always be the case – consequences instigating consequences, which bounce and ripple throughout the vast Ocean of Existence… but having a child seems to amplify the significance of this potentiality… there is no telling what kind of pyramid my child – any child – may form the apex of.

The film, I Am Legend, is, in a nutshell, about a man turning the tide of a devastating global plague… reverberating consequences… the apex of a pyramid… it is an immensely sad film, but has at its core the message that however bad things may get, there is always hope…

Hope…

However we feel about the world, we should send our children into it infused with the stuff!

On an eternal pyramid, where the apex is hope… no amount of darkness cannot be made light… 🙂

