3 hours… and counting…

Just under 3 hours (GMT) till the predicted birth date of my child! 🙂

To be honest, I can’t particularly think of anything to say on this most momentous of days, but I thought it wouldn’t be right to let the day go by without saying anything. So let’s switch on “Spontaneous Mode” and see what happens!

It would be almost a cliché to speak of the passing of the last nine months in terms of it having flown by, crawled by or a combination of the two. However, what’s a cliché but a popular generalisation of the truth (or something)? As such, therefore, I will say… my, how the time has flown! Generally speaking. Although those few weeks at the beginning when Jo was constantly sick (for “morning sickness,” read “all day every day sickness”)… were not fun. I don’t expect they were too much fun for Jo either! Since then, there have been ups and there have been downs, but the weirdest thing of all, for me, has been just how much I have adapted to the idea of being a dad. In honesty, the best I probably could have said nine months ago was, “I’m as ready as I’ll ever be”… but now… it’s like… why the diddly haven’t we gone down this path before?!

The simplest answer is to the above is… we weren’t ready. Well certainly, I wasn’t ready. Or I didn’t think I was ready. I had other things to do in my life, I valued my privacy too much, etc, etc, etc. But now all those reasons (excuses?) I could have come up with nine months and more ago (what seems now, in some ways, an age ago) all seem to have just melted away. They are still there, in a manner of speaking, but their importance/relevance/significance just seems to have dissolved. I want to be a dad! I’m ready to be a dad! And as much as I’d kind of rather fast-forward through Jo having to go through the painful labour part…

I’m ready to meet my son/daughter a.s.a.p.!

So…

You may be wondering what’s going to happen to this blog… well, wonder no more! I fully intend for it to continue, in more or less the same form, only without the countdown (perhaps with a count-up)…

And…

I may slip in another piece or two before my child emerges into the world, but if not… tune in soon for “musings of a dad”! 🙂

