7 weeks & 2 days into Daddyhood

My daughter is presently only 7 weeks and 2 days old. Since becoming a dad, however, and in the months preceding such, I have communicated with numerous people, with varying levels of experience, on the topic of parenthood. One thing I have learnt is that parenthood seems to be a microcosm of life – particularly with respect of one’s relationship with the passage of time… There will be periods of mourning, of celebration, of looking forward… No doubt these will follow each other in quick succession! Already, for example, with my baby growing so fast and weighing substantially more than when she first emerged from the womb, I miss the time when she was so tiny and light and new and fresh… but I love that she is now so much more aware of her surroundings, she seems to notice Mummy and Daddy more rather than just the patterns on the curtains and the cushions (!), and when she lies there cooing at the fire and responds to me giving her a big smile and saying “Scooby-Doo!” to her and sometimes just shyly smiles and says “Gee-Goo!,” I am so overwhelmed with pride for my beautiful, clever little girl!

But…

I am also so looking forward to being able to have proper conversations with her, play with proper toys and games with her, help her with her schoolwork, hopefully help her with the trials and tribulations of everyday life, help her choose what uni to go to, take her out to the pub, etc, etc, etc…

Hmm… I’ve never really liked rollercoasters… Maybe I’ll start to see their appeal! 😉

