2 months & 3 days into Daddyhood

How’s it treating me? What do you mean? How is it soothing my fevered brow? How is it applying linctuses to my ailments? How is it bandaging my wounds? I presume you mean, “What is it like?” or “How are you coping with it?” or “What do you think of it then?” – at which I shall respond…

“It’s very nice, thank you.”

Or something to that effect.

Yes, I know, I’m being aggravatingly (perhaps even facetiously) vague… but I’ve tried, and I just can’t think of a decent response to the above! I mean, I could, each and every time I am presented with said query or variations thereof (and I have been presented with such more than a few times since my little one emerged into the world), reply with a detailed description of the highs and lows, the pitfalls and pleasures, the delights of horrors, which I have experienced of fatherhood so far. But do you really want to hear all that? And do I really want to present you with such each and every time I am presented with said query or variations thereof?

Fatherhood is life-changing. How does one summarise that life-changing-ness in one or two short, snappy, friendly, non-facetious sentences? I cannot presently think of a way. I think, therefore, for now, I will stick with…

“It’s very nice, thank you.”

Or something to that effect.

And I invite you to infer the depths and emotional intricacies inherent therein!

