3 months, 3 weeks & 6 days into Daddyhood

There’s a story in one of the newspapers this morning about someone who beat their baby, which includes computer generated images showing the extent and location of the bruises – I didn’t read the story, but I saw someone reading it on the train… and when I saw those images, I thought of my beautiful Talise, and I felt physically sick. How strong are those parental instincts, to protect, to nurture, to keep out of harm’s way… I feel bad if I accidentally knock her head while carrying her through a doorway, if I don’t keep her warm enough while changing her, if I utter a harsh exclamation when I can’t get her to stop crying or to go to sleep at night… The thought of consciously, purposely causing physical harm to my beautiful child – or of anyone else doing so… of causing bruises!

“There but for the grace of God…” and all that, but…

This sort of thing cannot be tolerated… it cannot go unpunished or unrecognised…

The abuse of children is the abuse of the future, of all that is at the core of being human…

It cannot be tolerated.

