4 months & 4 days into Daddyhood

See also…
https://theprogenitor.wordpress.com/2008/03/11/%e2%80%9cwhy-are-we-here%e2%80%9d-and-other-imponderables/
https://theprogenitor.wordpress.com/2008/03/21/asking-questions/
http://pepsoid.wordpress.com/2008/03/21/questions/

* * * * *

In Haruki Murakami’s Sputnik Sweetheart, the following two questions are asked…

Why isn’t the world square?
Why do squids have ten legs and not eight?

The context of the asking, in this context, is not important. However, it does make me think… how will I deal with such questions from my little one? There is, of course, the option of responding thus…

It just isn’t

…or…

Because God made them that way

…or similar.

But that, I feel, will be a cop out, apart from which, I feel that my daughter will deserve better. She will deserve more considered, thought out responses, more detailed and descriptive ones – and, where possible, more honest answers… and that honesty could take the form of confessing that I don’t know (why the world isn’t square, why squids have ten legs and not eight, etc)! I am determined that, at the very least, I will help my daughter to find out the answers to such questions herself, and/or we will find out the answers together – whereupon I will hopefully become a more enlightened and educated person myself!

I have already come up with a draft version of the biggie…

Where do babies come from?

I’ve decided (so far) to go with some kind of version – which is close to the truth but more, shall we say, palatable for a young person’s ears – which consists of such elements as a kind of cauldron in mummy’s tummy, in which is added special, magical ingredients by mummy and daddy, then the contents therein are “cooked” (I’m working on the terminology) for nine months… until out pops a baby! It’s a work in progress…

