5 months, 2 weeks & 1 day into Daddyhood

With age, the mind fills, like a virtually boundless hard drive… One acquires wisdom and one acquires cynicism… The trick is to balance the former against the latter!

I despair of the world… and it fills me with hope…

My child… my brand new, innocent (although I am sure, at times, from the knowing looks she gives me, there is an ancient soul in there), sparkly-eyed child… is a wonderful catalyst… a receptacle for all the dreams and hopes of how things could be, how things should be…

On the eve of my first full year as a dad, my child’s mother and I raise the topic of “New Year’s Resolutions”… it seems such a strange concept! There will be such changes over the coming twelve months – changes we have wrought and changes which are wrought upon us. Our child will develop… we will develop as parents… and our lives, aside from our new paternal/maternal status, will also continue to flow and grow and weave and be woven – but how can anything, henceforth (or at least for the next eighteen years!), any decision, plan, ambition, not now be intrinsically intertwined with the fact that we have a daughter?

I sometimes wonder… how can I ever want anything more than health and happiness for my beautiful Talise?

But people say one should not loose sight of oneself beneath and beyond one’s status as a parent…

Hmm…

I’ll get back to you on that one in a year or so…

😐

A happy 2009 to all my fellow bloggers, the readers of The Progenitor and anyone who has found themselves here by accident! 🙂 🙂 🙂

