5 months, 2 weeks & 3 days into Daddyhood

So here we are… 2009…

In a year it will be 2010!

And that’s just, like, so-o-o sci-fi…

Not that we’re all living in moon colonies, driving hovercars and wearing silver spandex our owt…

But still…

One cannot deny that this year, 2009, will inevitably, for yours truly, be greatly different to 2008… as 2008 was greatly different to 2009…

In 2008 I became a dad…

(and just think of the knock-on effect of that… mine and Jo’s parents became grandparents, our grandparents became great grandparents, our siblings became aunts and uncles… and so on…)

… and 2009 will be my first full year as a dad! My child will develop… how much? Previous to my own, I’ve not been around children that much… what will happen between the ages of five-and-a-half-months and seventeen-and-a-half-months? Will there be words? If so, how many? When will she be walking? What will she be eating? What will she prefer to eat? Will she have a favourite TV programme? A favourite toy? Will she be reading? If so, what? (she already seems to be fascinated with books and text… have I mentioned that one of the first things she does when she gets a new teddy bear or toy is examine the safety label…?)

What will she look like? She is already, of course, developing a distinct personality and physical characteristics, but in what ways will such things define themselves twelve months from now?

At the time of writing, I am nearly eight hours into a rather fine item of PS2 gamery… that being the highly acclaimed role playing game known as Final Fantasy XXII. Going off on a slight tangent here, I have had mixed feelings about previous Final Fantasy‘s I have played, but so far I am enjoying FFXII immensely – the combat system is greatly improved and the whole thing just seems so much more… grown up. But anyway, the point in me mentioning this is that I can’t help but somewhat see my child’s development in terms of the development of a character in a role playing game.

“You’re child is not a character in a role playing game!” – you may cry.

And of course you would be right! In my defence, however, I have, for much of my life, on and off, being “into” role playing games (ever since, if my memory serves me correctly, my curiosity was piqued by the playing of Dungeons & Dragons by some of the characters in the film, E.T.), more recently those of a videogame-y nature, so I hope you will forgive me for drawing such a parallel here. Said parallel takes the form of my RPG-soaked (or at least slightly RPG-moistened) brain not entirely consciously asking the following sorts of questions…

What skills will she acquire?
How will her attributes change?
At what rate will she… to use RPG terminology… “level up”?

Yes, I know…

My daughter is not a character in a role playing game!

Or maybe…

We all are…??? 😐

(and other such sci-fi-y, conspiratorial ponderances…)

