7 months, 1 week & 2 days into Daddyhood

A piece by Flandrumhill on deer-gazing has inspired me to write a few words on the influence of nature upon my little girl – or how I would like my daughter to be influenced by nature. Firstly I will quote verbatim a comment I made on Flandrum’s piece…

My 7 month old daughter, as 7 month old humans are wont to do, got herself all worked up about something t’other day, to the point where one was left at a bit of a loss as to what to do. I never like to see her getting upset, crying, etc, even if it is “just what babies do.” I had a bit of a brainwave, remembering that she is often captivated by trees, when she is out for a walk…

I picked her up… took her outside (still screaming her head off by this point)… and walked her around some trees… she quickly settled down, relaxed, even started smiling!

We don’t have deer nearby, but one can never underestimate the healing/de-stressing power of nature… :)

So whether or not one could yet say that Talise is “taking an interest in” nature, it certainly seems to have a positive effect on her. A healing effect. She seems to be soothed and fascinated by the complex patterns and motions of trees – the gentle swaying of the myriad branches in a light breeze…

This is just one of the numerous things one sees anew – with fresh childlike eyes – as one travels the path of parenthood. How much more will I learn about the things which are right in front of me? How much more will Talise teach me about the world, as we continue down this special journey together…? 🙂

