7 months, 2 weeks & 2 days into Daddyhood

Time is relative. A cliché, but how true! Or at least the perception of it.

A colleague asked me at work yesterday how old my Talise was. I told her seven-and-a-half months. She said something about how fast time had gone since Talise was born. I agreed, but also said that it was weird that this time last year I didn’t have her – I was not yet a dad (although I did have a pregnant girlfriend). In response to this, the same colleague said something about how much time seems to pass when you are a new parent – i.e. a lot. I agreed. All those milestones and mini-milestone; those markers of time, that seem to stretch time. I sometimes find it weird to think that I have ever not been a dad.

So time is going fast and time is going slow.

Simultaneously.

A contradiction?

Of course. But no less true for that.

How so?

Well…

Here’s another cliché… the mind is a complex thing. This is obvious. What obviously follows from this is that perception is a complex thing. We can perceive the same thing in two different ways. Simultaneously (more or less). Including time.

Think of childhood, the Time of the Now, where the future is such a long way off and the past is forgotten… and yet where also, when one is looking forward to Christmas or a birthday or the visit of a well-loved grandparent, the days, hours and minutes just cannot be counted down quick enough. Or think of how one’s perception of time changes as one gets older… time gets faster and faster; it sometimes seems to just rush by… the future looms… the past takes up more space in one’s brain (how many nostalgic children do you know?)… and a minute in a meeting or on a busy train can drag on forever…

Time is relative…

Relatively slow, relatively fast…

But the perceptions and proportions can change…

Childhood is the Time of the Now, and when you have a child – when you become a parent – you become immersed in that time. It rubs off on you. Every day, my beautiful Talise teaches me another lesson in living in the now. Thank you, Talise! 🙂

