8 months & 1 day into Daddyhood

The only thing about baby led weaning (well not the only thing, but you know what I mean) is the mess. I mean, there’s mess involved in “normal” weaning (the feeding of purees and so on), but when at each mealtime you allow your baby to choose, pick up, eat and do pretty much whatever else they want with their food (smear it all over their face, clothes, highchair, put it in and behind their ears, up their nose, in their hair, scatter it to all four corners of the kitchen… and somehow – God knows how! – get bits of it in their nappy), keeping the Zone of Eating in a condition bearing some resemblance to Clean and Hygienic is an ongoing battle. In relation to such I have to guiltily confess two things…

1. I’m glad I generally, except partially at teatimes, only have to deal with it at the weekends.

And 2. I slightly relish, in admittedly a rather mean way, the prospect of the staff at the nursery we have just got her a place at having to deal with it, when she is in their care, when we demand they keep up her baby led weaning “routine”…

😉  😉  😉

