8 months, 1 week & 2 days into Daddyhood

Now obviously parenthood is a joyous and fulfilling experience. It does, however, consist of elements which are, shall we say, less than desirable. The old and oft-spoken-of classic is lack of sleep. Occasionally I find myself speaking to people with prior experience of such things, often just as a topic of conversation, but sometimes, I will admit, in a fishing for sympathy kind of a way. When engaged in such a conversation (or exchange of a sentence or two), I have found that folk can be roughly split into two camps…

1. the Been There Done That brigade, who may actually go so far as to relish your pain, happy in the knowledge that it is a pain that they no longer feel.

2. those who, as a result of their prior experience, are able to retrospectively empathise with your pain.

I hope that in the future I shall be gracious enough to find myself falling into the second camp!

