1 year, 1 week & 6 days into Daddyhood

I recently had something of an altercation with my HR manager at work. I don’t want to go into details or get personal or anything, because for one thing, you never know who’s reading your blog. Suffice it to say that it involved me leaving work early due to my child being ill, and, upon talking about this with said HR manager, me storming out of her office, loudly declaring, “I’ve had enough of this crap!,” slamming her door, then slamming my cup of tea down on my desk. This is most uncharacteristic of me. I think it is fair to say that I feel things a lot, but I don’t normally express said feelings in this kind of way.

I put this recent storming-swearing-slamming incident down to recently discovered and growing-by-the-day feelings of Fierce Parental Protectiveness. People speak of such things. They always have – even before I myself became a parent. But now I really, truly understand. That feeling – that knowing – that you will do absolutely anything for your child. You will protect them at any cost. Of course, there isn’t always a logical basis to this – with such as the above-described storming-swearing-slamming incident, I doubt it would have benefited anyone if I had lost my job, over what was, in the grand scheme of things, a relatively minor incident. But in the heat of the moment, while I felt like I, my family and my feelings towards my family were being attacked, it was all I could do to stop myself from hurling said cup of tea across the room, and if said HR manager had come after me and I hadn’t been convinced by my department manager to go and have a few minutes to calm myself, then I suspect thoughts of causing actual bodily harm to whoever got in my way would have been dangerously close to forming in my head.

Like I said… most uncharacteristic. Could it be that most murders occur as a result of parents protecting their children? I would be interested to see the statistics on such…

