1 year, 4 months, 1 week & 4 days into Daddyhood

My daughter can be hard work. She is going through that independent/clingy phase, which means she is constantly testing and pushing boundaries, testing and pushing our limits of patience, saying she wants something then wanting something entirely different, climbing onto anything she can get her bum onto, being something of a nightmare to get to eat anything other than raisins and bread sticks (she used to be such a good eater!), etc, etc and so forth. But as I lounge on the sofa, at 6.10pm this Thursday evening, reading Heinlein’s Starship Troopers, with my beautiful, independent girl sat leaning on my leg, a look of determined concentration on her gorgeous little face, as she flicks through her In the Night Garden books, passing them to me as she finishes with them, then I pass them back, and the process resumes… a smile forms on her Daddy’s lips as I realise…

This is a perfect moment!

I return to Starship Troopers and she returns to Igglepiggle… πŸ™‚