1 year, 5 months, 3 weeks & 6 days into Daddyhood

When one has existed on this planet for over 37 years, the meaning of New Year celebrations becomes diminished. That’s not to even mention the fact that, with a nearly-eighteen-month-old child, one is only conscious to see 2009 become 2010 due to having to settle her back to sleep after she has been frightened awake by the fireworks. Nor that, after I took over an hour to get back to sleep then she was awake again at 4.15am, the first day of the second decade of the twenty-first century was, shall we say, a “difficult” day. But having not mentioned these things…

What is the point?

Of celebrating the New Year, that is.

I mean, it (January the first) is only another day, which is really no different from any other day.

Especially since, as one has a daughter who doesn’t understand the concept of a “lie-in,” one was in bed on 31/12/09 at the usual time of 9pm – or actually, thinking about it, I think we decided to be wild and stay up another 20 minutes!

So as I was saying…

Why bother celebrating the passing of one year and the beginning of another one?

Why bother making “New Year’s Resolution,” when one knows from experience that they will go largely unresolved? (I am happy to say I am not a smoker, and inasmuch as I can’t remember the precise statistic, I was shocked to see somewhere recently how many people give up smoking compared with how many are back on the fags within a month)

In response to the above question, referring in particular to the bracketed comment, I suppose what one could say is this…

It is better to try, with the tiniest chance of success, and to fail, than to not bother trying at all.

Hmm, I’m sure I could have put that a bit more succinctly. Still…

Is it not? – i.e. better to try… etc. I mean, accepting the arbitrariness of the passing from 31-Dec to 1-Jan, is this not as good an excuse as any to decide to at least try to make a number of positive (hopefully!) changes to one’s life? I would suggest that it is!

In relation to this suggestion, I would add a further suggestion to anyone making a list of New Year’s Resolutions, or who has already made a list (being, such that it now is, getting on for two weeks into 2010), to add one more to the list, that being…

I resolve to accept the likelihood that I will fail in some of the above Resolutions, perhaps even all, but I will not be dispirited by this and I will continue to try to change my life for the better.

If one keeps only this final Resolution, then one can, in a sense, never fail!

* * *

Before I move on from the topic of New Year’s Resolutions, may I just share with you some of mine? You may not give the proverbial fig, but it is my Blogger’s Prerogative to tell you them anyway, so there! So here they are…

1. Learn the ukulele! (I acquired one recently, from Freecycle, but have not picked it up as frequently as I would have liked, so I endeavour to make substantial use of the chord book my Other Half got me for Christmas)

2. Don’t sweat the small stuff! (I have an unfortunate tendency to worry about small, insignificant things, which I really don’t need to worry about (I won’t go into details, because it’s embarrassing) – I intend to at least be more aware of this, and perhaps even to devise a written plan)

3. Make more of your writing! (i.e. do some of those things I’ve recently realised I’ve been telling myself to do, for several years, in my writing journals)

4. Be more flexible, spontaneous and easy-going! (a three-pronged attack!)

5. Reuse more plastic bags! (particularly at my local Morrisons)

6. Find more time to read! (I want to, for example, catch up on the works of my teenhood fave, Stephen King)

* * *

As well as making resolutions, I feel that it can be useful, at the end of each year, to look back over the preceding twelve months and reflect upon what one has learnt, how one has grown, what challenges one has faced and overcome and such things.

“What has,” (one might say) “2009 been The Year Of?”

And one might make a list – quickly and spontaneously at first – from the biggest, most significant, monumental of things, to the (apparently (at first)) smallest, most trivial of things. Like so…

2009 has been The Year Of…

1. CBeebies! (I have become very strongly acquainted with the characters, themes, programme scheduling and so on, of such)

2. Becoming a Dad! (technically I became a dad in July 2008, but in 2009 I grew into properly feeling like a dad)

3. Getting Out of Accounts! (time will tell on this one, but since being made redundant in Sep’09, I have resolved to change my career (details later (probably))

That’ll do for now. I may think of more, but I feel that I want to wrap up this longish blog entry and get it posted – before I’m too far into Jan’10!

So…

Have a good’un!

By which I mean to say…

Have a good day.
Have a good January.
Have a good 2010.
Have a good life.

Etc!

🙂

[simultaneously posted to The Progenitor and The Art of Tea]

