1 year, 6 months, 2 weeks & 1 day into Daddyhood

Kids?!
School?!
Terrifying!
Except…
Well, not really.
Surprisingly.
In fact…
Fun!
And rewarding.
Etc.

* * *

Friday 29 Jan 2010, 0900-1200h…

Two “Learning for Life Academy” (LFLA) workshops at my local primary school…

1. “Hands-On Drawing”: where the kids (all Key Stage 2) drew around their hands and added bits to make various animals. Nervous at first. Then got stuck in, went round the class asking them their names, helped out a bit when they lacked for inspiration, did some praising and such. A couple of kids “insisted” I then go to their “Pop Art” session. I was touched! So…

2. “Pop Art”: kids of same age (including the above) traced around head’n’shoulders photos of themselves four times, coloured in blocks of colour with same four felt tip pens but in different combinations. I got to do some colouring in! 🙂

* * *

Doing the same next Friday morning – maybe same groups, maybe different ones. Looking forward to it!

* * *

My First Teaching Day was a test…

I have decided I want to “get into teaching”… but is it really for me?

I was nervous. My tummy and bladder were expressive of said nerves…

But I “came through”!

I walked home happy!

I felt I could “get into it” and get better and better!

Kids?
School?
Terrifying?
Naah!!

But “telling off”…?
Hmm, that I’ll have to work on…

