1 Year, 10 Months, 1 Week & 2 days into Daddyhood

Well sort of.

By which I mean to say, I have just completed my first day (actually morning) assisting in a mainstream class.

It’s been a long time coming! What with waiting on CRB checks and what-have-you. But finally I’ve done it!

Specifically I assisted, voluntarily, in a Year 1 class at a local primary school. So those right at the start of their school career. What a lovely age to work with! Just starting to properly learn about reading, writing, adding up, subtracting and all that kind of stuff. And, generally speaking, so eager to learn, to show off what they know and to please “teach” – by whom I mean, the class teacher (obviously), the TA and any assisting volunteers – i.e. me! How nice to be needed, to know that I am seen as He Who Knows, and, when I was put in charge of tidying the Story Corner, to be in receipt of the willing and eager help of a girl who unquestioningly complied with my tidying system! 🙂

One thing which struck me was the lo-tech-i-ness of it all. Technology is obviously in evidence, but I was nostalgically pleased with the extensive use of pencils, exercise books, plastics blocks, wooden rulers, laminated bits of card, real paper books and so on. IWB’s (Interactive White Boards) will take some getting used to, though!

Unfortunately I now have to wait until after half term until I can assist again at the same school… but I am already hooked! Now I just have to figure out how to get on the Department of Education’s payroll…

