2 Years, 1 Month, 2 Weeks & 4 Days into Daddyhood

My teaching career so far…

I thought I wanted to only work with very young children…

I thought I wanted to only work in Nursery and early Primary…

I didn’t think I could handle profound learning difficulties…

I didn’t think I could handle teenagers…

I have placed these and other dominoes… I am still only a little way along the path… Some dominoes have fallen, some are tottering, none are as immovable as they were…

I am learning… I am pushing my boundaries… My comfort zones are expanding…

There are boring days, there are tiring days, there are !omygod! days – but underlying it all is an immense sense of purpose.

Education matters!

People often don’t get the education they deserve or can afford… The system isn’t fair or nearly adequate… A “good education” is no guarantee of a good job or a good life… Happiness is never a given… But now, at least now, I can play a part in doing what can be done…

On these tentative first steps, I am hopeful.

Can I change the world?

Everyone can change the world.

It starts with knocking down dominoes.

