3 Years, 3 Months, 4 Weeks & 2 Days into Daddyhood

I’ve got some Big Stuff on my mind at the mo. Because of this Big Stuff and the inherent distractive tendencies thereto, I completely forgot, until 8:25, five minutes before we were due to leave the house, that I was supposed to be taking Talise to kindergarten yesterday morning. There we were, relaxing on the sofa watching Peppa Pig, when I went up to the loo and thought, “I’m supposed to take you somewhere…”

Then it hit me.

OMG! – and such things.

Get dressed… Get Talise’s clothes… Think, how the diddly am I going to convince Talise to get dressed and out the door in five minutes?… Make it a game!… Make a big thing of how silly Daddy has been, forgetting kindergarten and that… Let her take her windmill… Choo choo! You’re the train driver and I’m the passenger!… We’re so busy! Busy busy busy! Even busier than busy bees!… Gotta be quick! Can’t be late! Don’t want the teachers to tell Daddy off!… Out the door at 8:36… Kindergarten starts at 8:45… Off we go then… “You have to carry me, Dad”… Yes I know! We’ll never get there on time otherwise… Power-walking with a 3-year-old… Hope my knee doesn’t give out… There’s the mums and their pushchairs… Scuse me, please, scuse me – bedraggled father and daughter coming through… (although not too bedraggled, I hope – she does have a reputation to uphold)… Follow the painted footsteps… Through the kindergarten gates with a minute to spare… Hang up your coat, quick brush through hair with fingers, find your name, find your teacher, quick kiss goodbye, out the gates and…

Phew!

All’s well that ends well.

As I hope will be the case with aforementioned Big Stuff…

